Listen to God


Take a moment, sit back, and listen. What do you hear?

We are often moving and going about our daily lives, focused on the take at head, forgetting about the one true thing that matters in life. But He hasn’t forgotten about you! God is there listen to your every prayer. He knows your every care, your every need, want, or desire. But are we taking the time to listen to Him?

This is something that became especially important me recently. Moving to Columbus, leaving my family and friends behind, God was all that I had to lean on. For something as simple as grocery shopping even required me to look to Him for direction. You wouldn’t believe that it would make a difference which store you go to until you go through. There are seriously at least eight grocery stores within five miles of my house. At first glance, you’d think Wal-Mart would be the best buy. But listen to God, you’ll find out otherwise.

Matt 6:33(NLT) says, “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” In simpler terms, The Message translation say, “People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.” But how can God meet “your everyday human concerns” if you are not taking the time to listen to Him.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been finding myself really stressed out. I’m in the city without a friend or foe, concerned about my job performance, trying to do everything that I can to get my name out there as a raising author and poet. As a result, I haven’t been able to eat or sleep. I’ve been having nose bleed after nose bleed and been really achy without an explanation. Then it hit me like a tune of bricks. I hadn’t been to church but twice since the new year. Yes, I’d been reading my Word. But I had reduced my time with God to drive by prayers and reading between task. How can I truly expect to hear what God is saying to me if I’m having a one way conversation with him? You right, I can’t! And it’s the say with you.

In Rev 3:20 (NLT) God charged us saying, “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.” It’s time for us to open up our hearts. I mean truly and honestly open up our hearts and let God in. Once we position ourselves to listen to God, He will be able to bless us in ways that we’ve never seen God show up and show out in our lives. Remember Proverbs 3:5-6 (MSG) told us, “Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.” God is a true gentleman, waiting patiently for us to yield to His will for our lives.In Jeremiah 29:11 He told us that he already not the thoughts that He had towards. We need to let Him bring those thoughts to fruition so that we really can have that “future and a hope” that that scripture talks about. We’ve gone out on our own for far too long. It’s time for us to seek the face of God and allow Him to give us the direction for our lives.

Leave a Reply

