Writing: Is it skill or talent


Many people look at writing as a talent that some people are born with others acquire the skill by take several English classes. Honestly, I don’t believe that it’s either.

In order to produce a book that screams bestseller, I believe that the writer has to has a passion for their work, a passion to captivate the attention of the reader, and a passion to be willing to go back to the drawing board to develop new ideas and concepts that keeps your readings coming back. That’s not to say that this passion can’t be fueled by the talent to write or developed through years and years of toiling over essays and term papers.

My story, Long Distance Relations, was truly a labor of love. It took me six years to get that book to a point that I can say that I was ready to go to press. My passion for the story I was telling cost me a lot personally and professional. (If told you my story, you would be floored.) But to have my readers emailing, texting, tweeting, and facebooking me to tell me how much they are enjoying my book, shows me that my passion to get that story out was worth the sacrifice I faced in the process.

As a new writer, you have to give up somethings to get where you want to go. I am still within my first year as a published author. I’ve lost countless hours of sleep not to mention the amount of time I’ve lost with my friends and family. However, when you have a support system of friends and family members like I do, they rally around you and help push you to your goal. Those that really don’t mean you any good, will find the exit as you prepare to take the stage for the next act of your life. To be able to allow those people to walk out on you shows you and the rest of the world that you have a passion for what your are doing and you mean business.

When you realize that outside of your first priorities – God, spouse, kids – that nothing means more to you then completing your manuscript, that’s when you will know that you have honestly develop the passion to complete your project. It’s up to you to decide if your skill or talent will take you the rest of the way.

Leave a Reply

