Issues (Repost from my facebook notes)


This was a note I originally posted on Facebook nearly three years ago. It speaks volumes to where I’ve come from and introduces the path that I’m determined to stay on. Enjoy!

Original post my facebook notes: Sunday, August 7, 2007

In life we all have issues that we have to face. For some, the issues may be a little more serious then those of the person sitting next them. Regardless, we may not know how to handle them. We hold the stuff in and it begins to eat us and will continue to eat at us until it kills us.

John 10:10 says that that the theif (meaning the devil) cometh not but to steal, kill, and destroy. He’s in to steal your joy, peace, and happiness. He comes to destroy your life and everything that you stand for. And his ultimate goal is to kill you emotionally, mentally, spiritually, and eventually physically.

For those of us who know God and have or had some sort of relationship with him, the devil is always there to send an issue our way to get us to fall into his trap. But see, because you have God, should you make the mistake and fall into that trap, God is always there to provide a way out.

About eight years ago, Pastor Donnie McClurkin introduced the world to his number one hit single “We Fall Down.” In it he told us that “a saint is just a sinner who fell down and got up.”

I know that I’m not perfecty a long shot. I’ve fallen before and I may fall again before I reach that level of perfection where God call me home. It took a friend to remind me that what we must learn from each issue we face in life is to not let the issue become who we are. Yes, the may be a struggle involved, but don’t give over to the struggle.

A struggle is nothing more than a ware between you and the devil. In every war there are several battles that you face until you either win the war or let the devil defeat you. Everytime you go to battle with the devil on a particular issue, he sends the biggest and best demons to face you on that issue. When you defeat him, those demons go running back to hell with their tales between their legs. Then what happens? In Matthew 12:43-45 tells us that when that one demon leaves and returns to find his house “clean, swept, and garnished” he goes and get seven more “spirits more wicked then himself.”

In other words the struggle only get worse, not better! But any struggle that you are in is a faith walk. 2 Corinthians 5:7 tells us “(For we walk by faith, not by sight) – King James Verison.” The Message bible puts that same scripture this way “It’s what we trust in but don’t yet see that keeps us going.” So in this struggle, you can’t continue to look at your current conditions to get to your desired end. If you look at your current conditions, it gonna fail you everytime. Its a faith walk! Where does your faith lie?

If I continue to look at this situation that has trouble me for more that 12 years, then I can’t get to my desired end. Why? Because my faith in lying in my current situation! My desired end is to be 100% percent healed, delivered, and totally set free. If that’s what I really want, then that’s where my faith need to be. I need to trust and believe that God is faithful in completing this work that He has begun in me. Isaiah 53:5 say, “But he was WOUNDED FOR our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

Therefore, on this day, August 5, 2007, this struggle is no longer mine! Father, I truly, wholeheartedly, give this thing over to you. Because it makes no sense for me to continue to hold on to something that you sent your son to the cross to die for. I ask that you forgive me for selfishly holding on to something that told me was not mine. I thank you for your forgiveness and ask that you continue to strengthen me to do better in life! Amen!

If you are reading this, and you have an issue that you’re dealing with, I encourage you to give that thing over to him today! He’s waiting!

“But he was WOUNDED FOR our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”
Isaiah 53:5
Leave a Reply

