Movie Review: Death At A Funeral


All star cast scare me! Every since Kevin Hart, Monique, Snoop Dogg, and…I can’t remember who else hit the silver screen in Soul Plane, I’d rather have a root canal then see an all-star cast movie. At least that’s what I thought when Death At A Funeral was slated to hit theaters. However, Chris Rock, Danny Glover, Tracey Morgan, Martin Lawrence, Loretta Devine, Columbus Short, and Zoe Saldana quickly changed my mind.

A movie with four awesomely talented comedians – Kevin Hart, Morgan, Rock, and Lawrence – it was destined to be a blockbuster. However with a cast that can hold their own weight in Glover, Devine, Short, Saldana, Keith David and Luke Wilson I put all my fairs a side and took a major risk – in my book – and went to see this movie.

Shortly after the opening credits and all the guest began to arrive to pay their last respects to the deceased, I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat. At one point I found myself holding my side laughing so hard. Luke Wilson was amazing. Zoe Saldana always do a great job in my opinion. Chris Rock and Martin Lawrence painted the perfect picture of fighting siblings. The interaction because Tracey Morgan and Danny Glover’s characters was the best.  Loretta Devine is a diva and she was sure to keep her diva status in this movie.

All those fears of all-star cast was put to rest for the moment. I think that Kevin Hart redeemed himself from Soul Plane in my book. I like the movie, I didn’t love it. So, no I didn’t see it twice. However, I will still give Death At A Funeral four and a half stars. But it will be add to my collection for sure.

Leave a Reply

