Movie Review: For Colored Girls


I just left the theater from seeing the movie. Right now, I’m sort of….numb! Rape, domestic violence, abortion, homosexuality and many other issues that woman face on a day to day basis. My mom told me when I was a kid, “there is nothing new under the sun.” Meaning:Whatever issues you’ve had to face in life, someone else dealt with them at some point.

Tyler Perry, in my opinion, as never failed to deliver with a star studded cast. For Colored Girls, stood up to his reputation. I must admit, this movie was typical Tyler Perry. I love the man’s work, but it seems that all of his work tends to hit on the same social issues of neglect, abuse, adultery, and the destruction of another African American household.

Kerry Washington, Anika Noni Rose, Loretta Devine, Janet Jackson, Kimberly Elise, Phylicia Rashad, Whoopi Goldberg, Thandie Newton, and Tess Jackson all did an amazing job. Hill Harper, Michael Ealy, and all did their think as supporting actors. But this movie was clearly about the women and what they were going through. The most amazing part about the movie was how the individual lives of each woman seemed to weave its way in to the next. I wonder if the original choreopoem was written that way?

My best friend and I were comparing our thoughts on the movie to those of the reviewers. We found it atonishing the negative that many of them was spreading. But critics opinions aside most viewers felt as we did. It is a great body of work with out something to compare it to. Now I still haven’t to see the choreopoem. We’ll see if my opinion changes then.

Leave a Reply

