Music is my therapy 


Alright…when I moved to Columbus, Ohio in 2009 I went through one of the worst depressions of my life. The bad part about it was that I didn’t know or didn’t realize that I was in a depression. And after months of complaining my mother tried to get me to seek help but I was still unaware of my condition.

After about two years my supervisor finally pulled me a side and told me regardless of what I said or wanted to accept, I was depressed and needed to seek help before it got too bad. I was so hurt and upset I called my mother and told her and her exact words was, “I told you that.”
It took me a minute but I finally sat down and began to reflect on things. My marriage had just ended in divorce, I was on the outs with my father, all my family was back in Milwaukee/Chicago, my friends were all back home, and I’d lost one of my best friends in a verbal altercation. I didn’t have nothing or no one to look forward too when I came home each night.

But I had my music.

I dealt with (and still do at times) a lot of my pain and suffering through music. Music is healing. Music gives me life.

This song was one that I remember BLASTING as I raced down I-270 after work. People thought I was crazy. Because I would be in my car singing so loud I could be heard over the music and I would be dancing in my seat at stop lights. I didn’t care who saw or heard my. I was in my therapy session getting the help I needed to get through that day.

But this video for this song is SO funny that I could hardly get into the song because I was laughing so hard. I’ve been a fan of Kirk Franklin since the beginning and this is why.

P.S. I did eventually take advantage of the Employee Assistance Program at my job and got the professional help that I realized I needed and everyone was telling me to seek.
We all have issues and you should be afraid to seek help before you go off the deep end. If you or someone you know is suffering from depression please consider getting some help. If you are battling thoughts of suicide or self harm please call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-8255

Leave a Reply

